Nobel Laureates join INEED

Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Jerome Karle, B.S., PhD, Dr.h.c.mult.
Dr Karle along with Dr Herbert A Hauptman developed mathematical methods for deducing the molecular structure of chemical compounds from the patterns formed when X-rays are diffracted by their crystals. He worked on the ‘Manhattan Project’ between 1943-44 and thereafter became chief scientist within the US government. Amongst his many eminent positions Dr Karle has been the President of the American Crystallographic Association, Chairman of the US National Committee for Crystallography of the National Academy of Science and National Research Council and President of the International Union of Crystallography. He is a Charter Member of the Senior Executive Services, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Member of the N.A.S. and was the joint-recipient of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1985 and has received many eminent international honours and awards. Dr Karle is a visionary scientist of the first order.

Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. James Dewey Watson, B.S., PhD., Dr.h.c.mult.
Dr Watson is the President of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, New York, USA a world centre for research in molecular biology and where efforts are concentrated on cancer research. He is a world leading expert on genetics and biophysics and created with Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins the epochal discovery of the structure of DNA. It was Dr Watson who determined the crucial key factor that enabled the molecular model to be formulated. This was a momentous scientific breakthrough and a landmark in human endeavour which ranks along the side of those of Newton and Einstein. This accomplishment is widely regarded as one, if not the most important discovery of 20th century biology.
Dr Watson is the recipient of many national and international awards including the, Eli Lilly Award for Biochemistry, Lasker Prize, Nobel Prize for Medicine, John J Carty Gold Medal, Medal of Freedom, Gold Medal Award the National Institute of Social Sciences, Kaul Foundation Award for Excellence, Capley Medal of the Royal Society and. the National Biotech Venture Award.

Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Glenn Theodore Seaborg, PhD., Dr.h.c.mult.
Dr Seaborg is Associate Director-at-Large of the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, California and President Emeritus of the International Organisation for Chemical Sciences in Development (UNESCO). He is a world leading expert on Nuclear Chemistry and co-discoverer of the elements 94(plutonium), 95(americium), 96(curium), 97(berkelium), 98(californium), 99(einsteinium), 100(fermium), 101(mendelevium), 102(nobelium) and 106(unnilhexium tentatively named seaborgium in his honour).
Dr. Seaborg’s work helped greatly in the construction of the periodic table through an important organising principle enunciated by himself and known as the actinide concept. According to this concept 14 elements heavier than actinium belong in a separate group in the periodic table. He was on leave of absence between 1942-46 to head the plutonium chemical works of the Manhattan Project which ironically has been of paramount significance in keeping global peace for the past 51 years. This was an epochal achievement in science and ushered in a new era of discovery and knowledge harnessing the power of the known universe. Dr Seaborg served as Berkeley’s chancellor between 1958-61. During periods 1961 to 1971 he was chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission when the American nuclear-power industry developed rapidly during that time. Dr Seaborg was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry with Edwin Mattison McMillan in 1951. He is the recipient of many national and international awards including the, Enrico Fermi Award, Franklin Medal, Arches of Science Award, Officer Legion d’honneur, National Medal of Science and Order of the Polar Star.

*Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Andrew Victor Schally, PhD., Dr.h.c.mult.
Dr Schally is a Senior Medical Investigator of the US Department for Veteran’s Affairs (VA) and is professor of medicine at the Tulane University Medical Centre, New Orleans, USA. With Roger Guillemin and Rosalyn Yalow his work in isolating and synthesising hormones that are produced by the hypothalamus and control the activities of other hormone-producing glands led to him being awarded the 1977 Nobel Prize (discoveries concerning peptide hormones). Dr Schally is a world authority on hormones and cancer. He has been honoured with many awards including the Charles Mickle Award, Gairdner Foundation Award, Edward T. Tyler Award, Borden Award in the Medical Sciences (Association of American Medical Colleges), Lasker Award and the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine. Among his chief accomplishments are the synthesis of TRH (thyrotropin-releasing hormone), the isolation and synthesis of LH-RH (luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone), and studies of the action of somatostatin.

*Acceptance awaiting permission by the Office of Government Ethics (OGE) due to US Government regulations with regard to federal employee Ethics