Nobel laureate Prof. James Watson

Nobel Laureate (Physiology or Medicine) Prof. Dr. James Dewey Watson, BS., PhD Dr.h.c.mult. MNAS MAAAS MRDA(Denmark) MAPhilS FMRS(UK) MASc(Russia) Inst.Mem.mult.

Dr Watson is the President of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, New York, USA a world centre for research in molecular biology and where efforts are concentrated on cancer research. He is a world leading expert on genetics and biophysics and created with Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins the epochal discovery of the structure of DNA. It was Dr Watson who determined the crucial key factor that enabled the molecular model to be formulated. This was a momentous scientific breakthrough and a landmark in human endeavour which ranks along the side of those of Newton and Einstein. This accomplishment is widely regarded as one, if not the most important discovery of 20th century biology.

Dr Watson is the recipient of many national and international awards including the, Eli Lilly Award for Biochemistry, Lasker Prize, Nobel Prize for Medicine, John J Carty Gold Medal, Medal of Freedom, Gold Medal Award the National Institute of Social Sciences, Kaul Foundation Award for Excellence, Capley Medal of the Royal Society and. the National Biotech Venture Award.